Skip to content

Scooter Files

November 1, 2009

Well, Scooter had her first trip to the vet on Saturday and after two hours of exams, vaccinations and multiple x-rays of her abdomen we found out a) she may be pregnant or b) she may not be pregnant or c) she might have an infection of her mammary glands or d) she might have a false pregnancy.

I got more than I bargained for with this one!

So, keep your fingers crossed that I don’t wake up one day to find 6 more little Scooters in the guest room!

Also, despite the fact that she is so small and weighs in at a whopping 6 pounds, the vet says she could be 12-15 months old! I figured she was maybe 7 or 8 months old. The good news is she does not have feline leukemia or HIV, which is a relief.

Scooter has been having day trips out of the guest room this weekend but I am still trying to keep her and Notch separated in order to slowly introduce them to each other although earlier today Scooter decided she would take it upon herself to go meet her older sister. Notch, however, was not amused and hissed and carried on and hasn’t come out of the bedroom since. *sigh*

ScooterStudy

Scooter's field trip

ScooterChair

ScooterPorch

Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    November 1, 2009 10:54 pm

    I forget. What is the gestation period for cats? I never heard a vet say false pregnancy. You can’t see a heartbeat on an x-ray, however. Can’t they take a urine or blood test to determine whether she is pregnant? Are the species so different? We’ll good luck. It’ll all work itself out. I suppose you will have to wait and see before you have her spayed?

    What’s up with Hillary? Is she having to respond to direction from the White House? Hillary has a spine, this is surprising. As much as I like Obama, I am beginning to feel he is waffling on a lot of issues. Now he is off to the Far East and the troop decision and the final health bill haven’t been nailed down. This is all getting on my nerves.

  2. November 2, 2009 8:36 am

    They say about 60 day gestational period. I thought they could take a blood test too but I think given Scooter’s presentation they may have thought that it could yield a false positive- I’m not really sure. I would think, however, if it were negative that would make this a done deal, right? They opted for the x-rays thinking that would be more likely to tell us but if cats were just impregnated the kittens in utero still might not show up. Not as many false negatives. I looked up stuff about cats and pregnancy and apparently false pregnancies are surprisingly common. Assuming she’s not preggers, she has an appointment to get fixed in a month.

    As for Hillary and the Israel thing, I am totally perplexed (see my post from yesterday where I wrote about it at length).

Leave a Reply

