Skip to content

Secretary of Defense Clinton?

May 24, 2010

I don’t like this article over at Politico today. I wrote a whole long post about it a few minutes ago and then ended up deleting it because I was just ranting. The article essentially touts the partnership between what it describes as the two hawks in the administration, Defense Secretary Gates and Secretary Clinton. And you know how much I LOVE hearing about what a hawk Secretary Clinton is😉.

I’m not going to comment at length on it because, well, everyone who reads this blog knows where I stand on Afghanistan, Iran, China, etc. Unfortunately, I seem to stand completely opposite of Secretary Clinton in terms of viewpoint. The article floats the idea of Secretary Clinton taking over for Gates when he retires. I don’t really know how realistic that is, but it is mentioned in the article, although in passing.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. alinosof permalink
    May 24, 2010 7:48 am

    All I know is that the media is obsessed with Hillary Clinton’s career plans. The Politico and other organizations always come up with these schemes where Clinton is this ambitious omnipotent/omnipresent figure thirsty for more power. Remember the rumor about Clinton and the Supreme Court? I take all the speculation with a grain of salt or I just ignore them.

    • May 24, 2010 8:04 am

      Yes, and the article has Ben Smith’s name on it and I’m no fan of his. Unfortunately, the article also has Laura Rozen’s name attached, which surprised me.

      It’s all speculation of course and except for that big-mouth Leslie Gelb, no one seems to have gone on record in the article. It’s the first article I saw this morning and I probably initially over-reacted. Now that I’ve had my coffee it doesn’t bother me so muchh🙂

  2. rachel permalink
    May 24, 2010 8:05 am

    I saw that article and I saw it somewhere else. I agree with alinsof media and pundits are always wondering what Hillary will do next. I don’t think she would even want that job. I wouldnt be surprised if they start floating the idea of Obama and Hillary divoricing their spouses just so Hillary can be first lady again lol. Also should add I really don’t think you stand opposite of her on China.

  3. plural permalink
    May 24, 2010 3:08 pm

    I read that article and it made me happy that there is an alternative power source that can balance the White House staff.

    I doubt she’d want to be secretary of defense, anyhow.

  4. May 24, 2010 3:15 pm

    What I am hearing is that while it’s true that Secretary Gates and Secretary Clinton have a close working relationship and are like-minded on a lot of issues, the passing comment (and title) about her being his logical replacement was more to grab headlines [ie. attention] than a real possibility being bandied about.

  5. May 24, 2010 3:19 pm

    Damn, I just went over to politico and I swear they changed the title of the article! But now I can’t remember if the title included a reference to her being the next Secy of Defense or if all the news wires were just picking that up.

  6. plural permalink
    May 24, 2010 3:30 pm

    “Clinton-Gates axis” I assume is the media’s way of having fun with Bush’s axis of evil.

    I have read that Gates wants to leave, but I don’t see the secdef job as having influence in the areas Hillary is interested in and wants to promote — the status of women around the world, especially.

  7. May 24, 2010 3:37 pm

    Ben Smith used the teaser Clinton to DoD?” as the title for the excerpt he had on his blog and that was apparently what people got in their inboxes (if they sign up for Politico emails). I knew that was the title I first saw this morning!

    http://www.politico.com/blogs/bensmith/0510/Clinton_to_DoD.html

    But the title of the full article as it appears is “Clinton-Gates axis.”

    http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0510/37672.html

  8. filipino-american4hrc permalink
    May 24, 2010 4:23 pm

    I suspect that besides Hillary being a hawkish Democrat, and Gates seemingly a RELATIVELY less hawkish Republican, Hillary is using her partnership with Gates to try and institute some changes within the Pentagon, in particular the treatment of female service members. I remember during the 2008 primary that she was reported as having written several times to Gates either to call attention to alleged sexual assaults against female service members, or to ensure that Plan B (“morning after”?) contraceptive pills are available in military camps.

Leave a Reply

