Skip to content

Upcoming Week Highlights: Secretary of State Hillary Clinton

June 12, 2010

2S4NTVWPSBGV

Here is a brief summary of some of the highlights of the Secretary of State upcoming week:

  • She’ll be announcing the release of the 10th annual Trafficking in Persons Report on Monday, June 14, 2010 at 10:30
  • Also on Monday she will be delivering remarks at the Diplomacy Briefing Series Conference on Sub-Saharan Africa
  • She’ll be delivering remarks at the 2010 World Food Prize Laureate Announcement Ceremony on Wednesday
  • There is a meeting with Israel’s Ambassador to the U.S. this week, and I”m sure they will have *plenty* to talk about
  • Secretary Clinton appears before the Senate Armed Services Committee hearing on the new START with her pals Gates and Mullen
  • She’ll be delivering remarks on World Refugee Day on Friday.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Tovah permalink
    June 12, 2010 12:04 pm

    I’ve been to some other Hillary blogs recently- I had stopped going for a while- and can’t help but notice they pretty much have started doing everything you do here right down to the letter. If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery you should be way flattered.

    • Steve permalink
      June 12, 2010 12:10 pm

      Yeah, I noticed that too. But they don’t tend to really talk about issues and I get the feeling some are afraid of showing any disagreement with the administration. I like it here because I can get my Hillary fix with photo bombs and her schedule and Hillary news but also this is one of the few sites other than Foreign Policy (Madame Secretary) where there’s actually a focus on the issues behind what the Secretary does and I like that.

      I’ve noticed that Madame Secretary seems to be dying a slow death over at foreignpolicy.com – noone really goes over there to comment anymore and the updates are sporadic at best. I wish Stacy would take over that site because I think she could turn it around and get people to discuss stuff over there particularly given she’s not afraid of people with dissenting viewpoints, which is key on a site like that because I think on a serious foreign policy site like that, you can’t just have a fan blog. So, I vote for Stacy.

      • June 12, 2010 12:16 pm

        Thanks for the vote of confidence Steve, but Preeti is an editor over there (at FP’s Madame Secretary) so I don’t see it changing hands anytime soon. But I do think there is more than enough room for multiple Hillary blogs, web sites etc. – the internet is a big place. And despite some obvious similarities and overlap in the Hillary blogs they each have sort of their own focus. For my part, I certainly support anyone who blogs about Hillary but I’ve noticed that there isn’t a lot of tolerance for different viewpoints so I kind of stopped going to them. I have a different philosophy than some people in that I don’t see dissent or constructive criticism of administration policy as disloyalty. But I’ve been a political blogger for over 10 years (even though this site is only a little over a year old) and have always liked political debate from all sides. Having a blog about one person- Hillary Clinton- is actually hard for me sometimes because I feel like I can’t really talk about politics in general, which is why doing guest spots over at Taylor Marsh has been fun for me because I am a political junkie and love to debate.

  2. rachel permalink
    June 12, 2010 12:24 pm

    Thanks for the update.

  3. HillaryFan permalink
    June 12, 2010 12:28 pm

    I agree with Steve- you’d be great over at FP!

    Ever since the 2008 election I have been lurking at Hillary blogs but don’t usually comment. This is really the first Hillary blog where I have and I think it’s because Stacy knows her stuff and even though I don’t always agree with her very liberal take on things😉 I respect her knowledge of the issues and her willingness to always allow even the most annoying commenters to have their say. You also seem to have endless patience, which I don’t. There is something to be said for someone who can make logical point-by-point arguments which focus on the facts and not just the emotion and I think that’s a more effective way of making your case- I can’t help but think Secy Clinton would be proud of Stacy’s commitment to her and also the way she makes her arguments because Secy Clinton also makes very organized, fact-based, dispassionate arguments. It must be a lawyer thing😉

    Honestly, you should be working as a speech writer or something!

  4. Thain permalink
    June 12, 2010 12:29 pm

    Ok, important question- photo bomb tomorrow?

  5. Max permalink
    June 12, 2010 12:30 pm

    Two thumbs up!

  6. DonnaD permalink
    June 12, 2010 12:31 pm

    Oh please, the reason Stacy doesn’t go to other Hillary blogs is because she’s an Obot. She never criticizes The One.

    • Steve permalink
      June 12, 2010 12:34 pm

      Hey Donna, welcome back, missed you! You’re full of it- still!

      Anyone who reads this blog knows that there has been some criticism of Obama and his policies.

      Quit trying to divide Hillary supporters, the primary ended, move on.

      • pondskipper permalink
        June 12, 2010 3:19 pm

        Good comment Steve. I browse a lot of the other Hillary blogs (or at least those that were Hillary blogs during the primaries and still keep the name) and the depressing thing about some of them is the way they haven’t moved on from the primaries The dislike of Obama seems more important than politics or polices. It confuses me how so many supporters of Hillary Clinton can now be so pro-Palin, who surely is against most of what Hillary stand for.
        Still enough of this irrelevent politics stuff – USA are playing England in the Football World Cup so good luck to all you Yanks 🙂

  7. June 12, 2010 3:30 pm

    Hey pondskipper, I hear we’re not the favorite to win😉.

    Are you guys really pissed at us Yanks for criticizing BP? Because I have a theory about that. About two weeks ago BP replaced Tony Hayward as the public face of the oil spill over here and made a strange comment- something about his accent not going over well here and I remember thinking, “oh no, they are not going to play the nationality card” then I didn’t think anything of it again until the other day when all of a sudden there are all these headlines about the British being angry at Obama for being so critical of BP. I don’t think there is a person in this country who blames Great Britain for anything but rather are angry at 1) BP irrespective of where the company is incorporated and b) angry at our own government for allowing companies like BP and Haliburton to engage in unsafe offshore drilling.

    So, what’s going on over there vis-a-vi the U.S.?

  8. Steve permalink
    June 12, 2010 3:37 pm

    Pondskipper- I think a lot of Hillary blogs had a lot of Republicans on them trying to create conflict between Hillary supporters and Obama supporters in a way that went beyond mere political disagreement. Same thing with Faux News courting Clinton during the primaries. I don’t buy that after 8 + years of attacking the Clintons and having that loser Dick Morris on every other night that they suddenly fell in love with her. Instead, I think they just hated Obama more.

    I understand that many Hillary supporters are moderate and conservative but the difference between Palin’s politics and Hillary’s politics is night and day. Palin is anti-gay, anti-choice, anti-environment, wants religion intermingled with politics and essentially doesn’t know what she’s talking about on any day of the week. The people who compare Palin to Clinton are involved in delusional thinking. Hillary has earned her stripes- she has worked hard, gone through a lot of shit and won the respect of most of the world. Palin was selected to be a VP candidate and had not distinguished herself as anything other than a mayor of a small town and Governor of a state where the Lt. Gov does most of the work. No. Comparison.

    • pondskipper permalink
      June 12, 2010 8:44 pm

      Hi Steve – thanks what you say makes a lot of sense. I got the feeling that some of the support for Hillary on the sites was more mischief-making than genuine. The way they turned on a dime and became McCain/Palin supporters was just bizarre. I can understand their anger at the rough treatment Hillary received and their disappointment when she lost (I felt miserable for days and I’m a hard-bitten political cynic for goodness sake) but to transfer their support to the Republican Party…the REPUBLICAN Party that has been trying to destroy Hillary for years by lies, smears and innuendo, supposedly because of the way the Democrats treated her made no sense at all. And don’t even start me on Palin.

  9. Thain permalink
    June 12, 2010 3:39 pm

    Alright, my friend Pondskipper is back!

    Yo Stacy, ever thought of starting a politics blog where you can talk about a bunch of political issues and not just those related to the SOS?

    • June 12, 2010 3:47 pm

      Thain- yeah, as I said, I’ve been blogging about politics for about 10 years. Lately I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a political blog so I can just have this one for SOS updates and then I can rant and rave on another site about politics in general. The only thing stopping me right now is the time factor- lately I don’t hardly have enough time to update this blog so the thought of starting another one in addition to this is daunting.

      But starting a second website might help me get over my current frustrations with what is going on in this country politically. Sometimes its hard updating this site when it becomes increasingly clear to me that my own personal views on foreign policy stand in total opposition to this administration’s apparent foreign policy direction. When Clinton was selected as SOS and after Obama made that speech in Cairo I really thought we were going to break with the nonsense of the Bush admin. and in some ways we have. But in a lot of ways we haven’t. I’m an opinionated person but I try to be open to opposing views- I actually prefer discussing issues with people with different viewpoints and am not a big fan of the echo chamber. I really do love Hillary Clinton but increasingly I just can’t get in line with our policies with respect to Israel, Colombia, Honduras, China, Sudan etc. And I do realize that most people come to this website to see photos and videos of the SOS, not to hear me bitch and moan about Chinese human rights. So I am aware of that, which is another reason I may start a second website.

      If anyone is interested in political blogging and would like to work on one with me, drop me a line. Group blogging can be fun.

      • Steve permalink
        June 12, 2010 3:50 pm

        Well, if you start a second blog I will certainly follow it but I hope you don’t stop blogging here because I still think this is the best Hillary blog bar none.

    • pondskipper permalink
      June 12, 2010 8:47 pm

      Hi Thain – I agree Stacy would be worth reading on any subject

  10. Pcfs permalink
    June 12, 2010 4:59 pm

    Congradulations USA

  11. pondskipper permalink
    June 12, 2010 8:15 pm

    Hi folks, congratulations on the 1:1 draw. You may not have been favourites to win Stacy but never underestimate England’s ability to grab defeat from the jaws of victory. Anyway both the USA and England should go through to the next round ( if we can find a goalkeeper who can catch the bl***y ball!).
    You asked about the BP controversy Stacy. Mostly its just sheer nonsense by the reactionary right wing press and their usual rent-a-quote mob. Papers such as the Telegraph don’t like Cameron because he is too moderate for them and want to undermine the coalition (as it contains LibDems who believe in things like*gasp*Human Rights and equality) so are making trouble by accusing him of not standing up for British interests. Needless to say they don’t like Obama either (or any Democrat). Having said that there is some unease over here because BP is a big company that most pension companies hold investments in so there are financial implications for everyone if BP collapses. Hearing a US President demand the non-payment of dividends also rankles a little as we don’t remember Obama being so vocal about all those American banks that cause the sub-prime disaster that ‘polluted’ europe’s financial system! There are some people who are trying to undermine the USA/UK relationship and I’m not sure why as they are also the EU hating crowd who usually prefer you. I suspect this is still an after effect of the WMD/Iraq invasion mistrust, the wounds of which still go deep on this side of the Atlantic.
    Anyway now that the World Cup has started no one is going to be paying attention to the right-wing complainers any more. Mind you its lucky the USA team didn’t manage to beat England tonight as otherwise we’d all be hating on you🙂

  12. Theprosecutrix permalink
    June 12, 2010 8:48 pm

    She’s got a busy week and so do I. I’m especially looking forward to the trafficking report and the SASC hearing.

  13. pondskipper permalink
    June 12, 2010 9:44 pm

    Oh yes and that Tony Hayward accent thing – the theory is that he was making bad PR because of his English accent and his use of cute droll English sayings like ‘I want my life back’ which you humourless Yanks then took seriously. And why was the accent undermining BP’s attempts to appear fluffy and caring? Well ask yourselves what accent does the evil baddy in just about every Hollywood action blockbuster have? English! You see you are picking on us we’re not just a bunch of ineffectual insecure idiots🙂 apart from our goal keepers, sorry but they’ve just shown that USA goal again and it just gets more horrible each time!

Trackbacks

  1. ‘Obama’s visit may lead to new era’ | World University Information

Leave a Reply

