Skip to content

It Was Just A Matter of Time

June 21, 2010

Here we go again, the conservatives are trying to make trouble again. If you click on the link and take a look around the site, you’ll see what I mean. The ads are the same ads you’ll see over on DickMorris.com. And that’s never a good thing.

I’m all for Hillary Clinton being on the top of the ticket in 2012 but the fact is, it ain’t gonna happen the way that righty blog says it is going to happen. I also can’t help but wonder if some of those folks are projecting their intense hatred of all things Obama onto Hillary, and assuming that simply because of the divisiveness of the 2008 primary, she hates Obama as much as they do. The problem is, as we have all seen, Secretary Clinton and President Obama don’t seem to dislike each other at all. In fact, they seemed to have worked out their differences long, long ago and have even forged a very good working relationship. So the idea that she would jump in and challenge Obama in 2012 even if it meant ripping apart the Democratic party in the process, just isn’t plausible given her incredible loyalty to the Democrats and her past and present history of being the consummate team player. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to play defense for the Democratic party, which disgusts me about 97% of the time. I’m just looking at how Hillary put the ill will and injustice of the 2008 primaries behind her for the good of the party and I just don’t see how that translates into this notion of a rematch.

I am also incredibly suspect of the fact that many of these rumors are originating on conservative blogs. I think they are just trying to stir sh*t up.

Now, If Obama were to say “gee, I’m not so good at this whole President thing, so I’m just going to give someone with much more experience and acumen else a shot in 2012″ then hey, go Hillary! But again, and I feel the need to say this- whatever decision she makes about staying on at State or running for any other public office, I’d respect. At this stage of the game, Hillary should do what Hillary wants to do.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. rachel permalink
    June 21, 2010 6:47 pm

    These thing are popping up everywhere. I am so sick of Dick Morris I don’t know what to do. It’s been years man get over it already. I don’t think Hillary is gonna stay at state a 2nd term. If she does get placed on the ticket as vp maybe she will do it, but I don’t think she is running for president again.

  2. PYW permalink
    June 21, 2010 7:29 pm

    I agree completely. There’s zero chance Hillary challenges Obama in 2012, for the reasons stacy cites. The VP rumors are plausible, at least.

  3. pondskipper permalink
    June 21, 2010 8:01 pm

    I agree with everything that’s been said. The only reason that Hillary Clinton or anyone else would enter the 2012 race is if they believe they can win it and Clinton is intelligent enough to know that she won’t. A candidate who spent 2 or 3 years in an administration and then campaigned against it might look like a hero to Obama-haters but I think most other voters would see disloyalty and electors tend not to like traitors. Out of interest has anyone ever challenged an incumbant President and gone on to win the GE?

    • discourseincsharpminor permalink
      June 21, 2010 8:11 pm

      No, it hasn’t ever happened. All those challenges have ever done is split their party. Unless Obama decides not to run (which I can’t see happening) and endorses someone else, he will be the party’s nominee and no intelligent Democrat would try to challenge him. It only makes winning the general election that much harder for the party.

      I believe that Secretary Clinton has a book or two to write and a foundation to start in DC or something. She can do whatever she wants of course, but I believe she earned whatever private life/retirement she chooses to take.

  4. Pcfs permalink
    June 21, 2010 8:24 pm

    She is so loyal. She working so hard for our country. I agree with all the above. God Bless her what ever she wants to do at the end of her tenure.

  5. Steve permalink
    June 21, 2010 8:43 pm

    Oh I am sure Faux News will be having a ball with this. Lets take bets on how long it takes for them to call on their resident Clinton expert, Dick The Dick Morris.

    I agree with everyone- this is largely fueled by some conservative’s irrational hatred of Obama. It’s one thing to disagree with him, it’s another to go around creating stupid conspiracy theories.

    Can I vent? I know this guy is a Clinton friend but I can’t stand this fake progressive Lanny Davis. I’m surprised he doesn’t work for Fox News because he’s the poster boy for what they try to do to delegitimize liberals- he runs around claiming he’s a liberal or a “progressive” but if you notice, most of his political commentary is about slamming the left. So conservatives love him because he uses his status as a (fake) liberal to make his criticisms of liberals seem more legitimate because it’s coming from one of their own. G*d I hate that.

    http://thehill.com/opinion/columnists/lanny-davis/103681-progressive-threat-to-the-left

    Sometimes I don’t know why I bother voting for Democrats. The DLC and party establishment only like progressives when we’re going door to door getting out the vote, then when the candidate gets in office we’re the new enemy- just a bunch of unrealistic, angry idealists who don’t understand The Real World. What they don’t seem to understand is actually having principles.

    Sorry, venting over.

    • June 22, 2010 5:41 am

      Lanny is a tool. He serves exactly the purpose that you pointed out Steve and he makes a significant amount of money doing it. I couldn’t believe that he was doing “PR” for the coup government in Honduras all the while the U.S. was trying to mediate a solution. That whole situation still really stinks to me. If the coup gov. had been left wing we’d have gotten them out of their in a NY minute.

      Davis exists to prop up conservative dems and triangulate the left of the party and the right of the party. Of course in the end, despite media blathering to the contrary, the left always loses.

  6. Carolyn-Rodham permalink
    June 21, 2010 9:44 pm

    Not happening unless Obama stands down. Johnson decided not to seek re-election, so I guess anything’s possible, but I don’t think that’s the legacy Obama is looking for.

    • June 22, 2010 5:38 am

      Unless something really major were to happen, like a third war that Americans rebel against, but it’s unlikely, not least because Americans don’t seem to mind multiple wars so long as we don’t have to hear about them or see them every day.

      He’ll run again, but I am curious about Joe Biden. I just don’t see him as a viable candidate in 2016 so it’s kind of a wasted spot to have him as VP. Of course, even if Obama runs he may not win.

      • Pilgrim permalink
        June 22, 2010 12:46 pm

        Long time ago now Biden stated he very well could run in 2016 for pres. Hope it doesn’t happen.

  7. Pilgrim permalink
    June 22, 2010 12:49 pm

    I believe Hillary would have been best in ’08, and would have won (did win) but for the damnable caucus shenanigans, plus Michigan and Florida shenanigans.

    I believe Obama would have been wise to have her for veep. Obama couldn’t quite be that big.

    I believe he would be wise to have her for v.p. in ’12. That probably won’t happen either.

    He doesn’t care about the party, only his own “brand.”

Leave a Reply

