Skip to content

Hillary Clinton Announces $15 Million Pledge to Help Preserve Auschwitz-Birkenau

July 3, 2010

Secretary Clinton visited the Schindler factory museum in Poland earlier today and pledged to help preserve it and the remains of the Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp:

Speaking at the Schindler Factory Museum in Krakow, Poland, Clinton said the contribution will go to preserve the site of the concentration camp and “demonstrates America’s commitment to Holocaust education, remembrance and research,” the State Department said.

Some 1.1 million people perished at the Auschwitz-Berkenau concentration camp.

Because of the camp was initially constructed as a temporary place, the buildings and other artifacts at Auschwitz-Birkenau are deteriorating, the State Department said.

If approved, the funding would be provided over five years starting in 2012.

<The United States encouraged other nations to follow suit and contribute to the fund to preserve the site for future generations, the State Department said.

Thanks to Melusine who correctly pointed out that Germany has stepped up to the plate and given a significant amount of funds (60 million euros) towards the preservation of the museum and the entire site. I had made a stupid comment in this post [which I removed] about how I thought Germany should be sure to pony up some funds but I had been too lazy to look up and see if they already had, and in a much-deserved bit of instant Karma, I was shown to be wrong. So this is my mea culpa.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2010 11:14 am

    Hi Melusine- when I went to the link it said I wasn’t authorized to view the page, but I went looking around the site and while I’m not sure what exactly you were referring to, I am going to guess that it probably provided info. that demonstrates Germany’s commitment to maintaining the museum and that you left the link in response to my stupid comment about Germany above. That’s what I get for making an uneducated, snarky comment about Germany and the Holocaust, which as I look back back now, was a mistake, so I apologize.

    It was insensitive of me to infer to that Germany isn’t completely devoted to keeping the memory of the Holocaust alive (I mean that in a good way) so again I apologize. I’m also going to remove my inappropriate comment about Germany from the post.

  2. July 3, 2010 11:22 am

    Ok, it let me go to the link melinuse, not sure why it didn’t before. I stand corrected (but I already removed my stupid comment). So Germany has given 60 million Euros, probably more than any other country. And I probably should have taken the 10 seconds to look that up prior to making my jerk comment.

    So again Melusine, ich entschuldige mich.😉

    • July 3, 2010 3:25 pm

      Angenommen (accepted)🙂

      I had to assure myself of the german contribution and I´m glad they did, otherwise would be shameful.

      As there need to be raised 120 Mio € in total the announcement of the 15 Million Pledge is great🙂

      PS: If you ever visit Berlin don´t miss the Jewish Museum last time I stayed inside for 6 hours
      http://melusine08.wordpress.com/2010/05/11/berlin-2010/

  3. maddie permalink
    July 3, 2010 12:13 pm

    stacyx,

    I always love your posts.

    Thanks for all your fine work!

Leave a Reply

