Skip to content

Hillary Clinton’s Joint Press Conference in New Zealand (video)*updated*

November 4, 2010

Ok, this video should work:

And I posted this video in the post below but I enjoy it so much I am posting it again!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 3:06 pm

    I loved the second video, thanks for sharing!

  2. Vcal permalink
    November 4, 2010 6:41 pm

    It’s adorable! She’s so warm and authentic, thank you Staci for sharing it!
    I couldn’t watch the 1st one, says it was removed!

    • November 5, 2010 7:35 am

      Ok, it works now, I had to find another copy. Sometimes they get removed from YouTube for copyright reasons but this one seems to work.

  3. Pilgrim permalink
    November 4, 2010 8:11 pm

    I too greatly enjoyed the film of Hillary’s welcome to the NZ parliament forecourt.

    She really connects in a very authentic way.

  4. filipino-american4hrc permalink
    November 5, 2010 9:41 am

    Will she ever change her mind?

    “Clinton rules out a presidential run through 2016” (http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE6A41N020101105)

    • November 5, 2010 9:48 am

      I think there is no chance at 2012 unless Obama stepped down and decided not to run. She may yet change her mind on 2016. I think people who are pushing for her to challenge Obama in 2012 aren’t really being mindful of how loyal she is to the Democratic party and what a trooper she is. Some of us may believe at times that the Dems don’t deserve that kind of loyalty because they have mistreated her at times (during the primaries), but she’s a hard-worker and she’s loyal. I think some people are projecting their wants and desires onto her regarding 2012. I can’t help but wonder if she finds all the 2012 talk an unnecessary distraction from the hard work she is doing right now and I worry about that, actually. If people really want to help her they should respect what she says. I think some people have never gotten over 2008 and are trying to recreate it and I’m not sure if that’s where Hillary is at right now but of course I don’t know for sure.

      Now all that said 2016 is a long time away and anything can happen. Also, even if she did want to run in 2016 she could hardly announce it now- can you imagine the frenzy? I know some people are saying the same about 2012 but I think it’s totally different.

      If I heard she was running for anything I would be out there hitting the pavement, doing online stuff, volunteering in a heartbeat- but I am trying to respect her decisions, whether I happen to agree with them or not.

      • Carolyn-Rodham permalink
        November 5, 2010 1:27 pm

        My latest opinion on the subject — and I’m sticking to it! — is that she’ll run in 2016 but is wise enough, this time, to let the Democratic party elders come crawling to her, begging her to do it (so no-one *cough Kennedy Schumer* will go behind her back promoting other *cough Obama* candidates). If they were really smart, they’d ask her to join the ticket in 2012. Who else could run in 2016? Biden? (he’ll be 74 in 2016) Kerry? (“loser” persona) Emanuel? (Jewish) Kaine? (dull). As for any other woman – forget it. I’m with Nate Silver: “The simple fact is that Clinton was by far the best positioned woman to win the nationā€™s highest office and there is no one like her in the political minor leagues at the moment.”

        Run, Hillary, run!

  5. November 5, 2010 1:48 pm

    @carolyn- Thank you so much for not adding Evan Bayh to your list. Seriously.

    There are no great democratic candidates and while I understood Biden was good because he was an old white guy with foreign policy experience, he certainly wasn’t a great candidate to be the democrats heir apparent. My fear is that Joe will actually want to run in 2016. I hope not.

    The reason Emanuel would be a lousy candidate has nothing to do with his being Jewish and everything to do with his being an asshole. I honestly think a Jewish candidate would do fine- unless they were a terrible candidate for other reasons. I know there is still anti-Semitism in the Bible Belt but there are also a lot of Christian Zionists down there too.

    Sadly, while there were quite a few women candidates this election season, apparently we are at the lowest number of women office-holders in 50 years- I heard that on NPR this morning. A lot of women lost their seats or just didn’t win.

    I’m rooting for Hillary to run in 2016- I just don’t think it’s a possibility in 2012 although I wish she would be put on the ticket and let Joe move on to State (which Kerry wants) or some other position. I don’t know if Joe’s ego will allow that though.

  6. November 5, 2010 1:50 pm

    Oh, one more thing- can I tell you how glad I am that Harry Reid won re-election for the sole reason that it means that Chuck Schumer is denied that position? I’m no Harry Reid fan but I don’t want Schumer as Senate Majority Leader- if Hillary is a workhorse not a showhorse, Schumer is the opposite- he DEFINITELY is a showhorse!

    • Carolyn-Rodham permalink
      November 5, 2010 6:03 pm

      I had the same reaction — Reid is about as dynamic as milk toast, but Schumer is a two-faced, limelight-hogging, self-aggrandizing bore. If “Game Change” is at all accurate (and that’s a big “if”), I’ll never forgive him for secretly backing Obama in 2008 while publicly presenting himself as Hillary’s biggest fan.

      Is America ready for a Jewish President? In a Gallup poll in 2006, only 55% said yes. Two years later — during a campaign in which it appeared a woman or an African American might well be elected President — the percentage of respondents who said America was ready for a Jewish President jumped to 92%…hm. That said, Russ Feingold would have been on my short list for 2016 if he hadn’t lost his Senate seat.

      • Carolyn-Rodham permalink
        November 5, 2010 6:08 pm

        Plus, my son wants to be the first Jewish President…in about 20 years.šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

