Skip to content

SOS Hillary Clinton: Cabinet Post Will Be Last Public Job?

December 3, 2010

Now, now, now. Let’s not be hasty. First of all, I wish people would leave the woman alone and stop asking this question over and over, particularly given I sometimes don’t like the answer. But really, let her focus on what she’s doing now rather than pressuring her to commit (or not) right now:

Hillary Rodham Clinton says her work as U.S. secretary of state will be her final public position.

She told an interviewer in the Persian Gulf nation of Bahrain that she does not plan to run for president. And she appeared to rule out taking any other public role, saying that instead she expects to return to private life as an advocate for women and children around the globe.

She said she had enjoyed an interesting and rewarding public career and will be ready to get back to the advocacy work she did as a young lawyer.

Whatever she decides to do, I am behind her all the way. She’s earned the right to do what she damn well pleases irrespective of what that entails. That said, never say never!😉

ps. She’s in Bahrain right now.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn-Rodham permalink
    December 3, 2010 10:50 am

    She has certainly earned the right, after all her years of public service, to do whatever the heck she wants (swallowing my disappointment).

    On a separate, but possibly related topic, I just read Krugman’s op-ed piece “Freezing Out Hope,” about Obama’s latest failure to stand firm on values he believes in. It ended with: “It would be much easier, of course, for Democrats to draw a line if Mr. Obama would do his part. But all indications are that the party will have to look elsewhere for the leadership it needs,” and I thought to myself, “And I know just where they ought to look.” Renominating Obama as the Dem candidate for 2012 seems increasingly like a suicide mission. Will he realize that and step aside?

    • December 3, 2010 12:34 pm

      I’m flabbergasted at how Obama is behaving. I think he has surrounded himself with a group of loyalists who probably are unwilling or unable to speak truth to power.

      If he caves on tax cuts for the top two percent his goose is cooked I think. I can’t think of one issue where he has shown leadership and stood on principle and not backed down- not one thing!

      That he can’t expose the GOP’s hypocritical shenanigans on a whole host of issues but in particular with extending the tax cuts for the wealthy, makes me think it’s not just Obama that is the problem. The democrats couldn’t lead ants across a picnic table at this point. They have nothing that rivals the GOP messaging machine and the admin. seems angrier at the liberal base then they are at the GOP. He looks weak and ineffectual. He comes out and says one thing and then quietly caves. He needs to shake up his team. If I have to listen to that sniveling David Axelrod one more time- he is the WORST messenger. Same with Gibbs. Honestly, his whole political team are a bunch of losers.

      • Vcal permalink
        December 3, 2010 1:50 pm

        Can you imagine how Hillary feels about the political reality our Country is living right now? The media clown is in power, and the other media clown (palin) is talking about running! That’s may be 2 of the dozens reasons are making Hillary reconsider a new run x pres again! The political sysytem is so devaluated that a lot of forces are trying to stop and destroy an authentic public servant as Hillary is. As someone said here, this Country doesn’t deserve this woman! I’ll be with her in her new “woman and children mission” or whatever task she is in; I hope I can join her!

      • December 3, 2010 2:48 pm

        I agree with you. On your first point, after the election, if Obama was serious about turning around perceptions and admitting he made mistakes, he would have dismantled his inner circle or at least have seriously altered it. If he has, I’m not aware of it.

        You know Axelrod is a PR/political guy. When Bush was in the WH, there was an outcry when it appeared Rove was driving policy (which he seemed to). But where is the outcry when Obama has Jarrett and Axelrod doing the same? It’s been reported multiple times that all major decisions in the WH go through these 2.

      • Carolyn-Rodham permalink
        December 3, 2010 4:29 pm

        Jeff Rouse is pretty invisible, too. I thought he was supposed to be Mr. Fix-It. It’s hard not to be angry with Obama for squandering all the political capital (and good will) he had two years ago. Seeking bipartisan compromise on health care for months and months and months
        when it was clear the Republicans weren’t going to budge, dithering around long enough for Brown to win Kennedy’s seat (what an utterly demoralizing moment), then gutting
        the reform bill anyway —- just thinking about it makes my blood boil. I’ve given Obama the benefit of the doubt for two years but I’m with you, stacy, if he doesn’t take a stand on tax cuts for the wealthy, he not only doesn’t stand a chance of being re-elected, he shouldn’t even be nominated.

  2. SirJohn permalink
    December 3, 2010 3:56 pm

    Among the boring, gossipy cables which some claim show just diplomats being diplomats, there are cables showing that private contractors bought little boys for the Afghan police to have sex with and then there is this military cover-up:

    http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2010/12/cable-reveals-airstrike-killed-21-children-yemen/

    So, so most of you still claim that all this is none of our business? Even Stacy said there didn’t seem to be whistleblowing going on and she’s usually the only one willing to actually be objective and at times even be critical of this administration including State. I think that’s some wishful thinking on her part. Is the military entitled to take part in cover-ups? Or is it all OK so long as we don’t know about it and we can keep sipping our lattes and pretend this stuff makes us safer?

    I don’t expect anyone to answer. Pretty much all anyone does here is claim that so long as we’re safer, it’s all ok. Or claim that if anything has anything to do with HRC then it can’t possibly be bad. I’m not saying she was involved in this cover-up- because she clearly wasn’t- the State Dept. just knew about it. Sometimes the cover-up is as bad as the crime.

    • Carolyn-Rodham permalink
      December 3, 2010 5:17 pm

      I’m with you about DynCorp — it is unfathomable to me why this company has been hired over and over again and paid billions over the years by the federal government when they have a list a mile long of criminel abuses such as the “dancing boys” incident you refer to. How about shooting a cab driver for no reason whatsoever? All they seem to accomplish is hardening the Afghani people’s hatred of Americans. Who’s responsible? Whose heads should roll? I haven’t the slightest idea. Do you have thoughts about that? But I think you’re making a bit of a sweeping and unfair generalization when you suggest that for “anyone here” it’s all OK, as long as we’re safe. If anyone came close to saying anything remotely similar to that, it was probably me, when I said I don’t usually stop to ask myself how another terrorist plot was foiled, I just breathe a sigh of relief. That’s not quite the same as saying, as you imply, that I don’t give a hoot what our government does to “keep us safe.” I don’t condone torture or assasinations. The deaths of innocent civilians is always tragic and I agree should be investigated. But I will point out that the strike you mention was supposedly targetting a known Al Quaeda camp and among those killed (in addition to 14 women and 28 children) were 14 men thought to be
      members of Al Quaeda. Do I support the use of drones to target suspected terrorist camps, if the intelligence is good? Yes. Do I shrug, say ho-hum, and turn away when women and children are killed in the process? Of course not. But let’s be realistic — wives and children can also be used as shields and are sometimes enlisted and trained to carry out terrorist
      acts. Should we not target Al Quaeda camps when wives and children are present? There are no easy answers here.

  3. December 3, 2010 4:13 pm

    @SA- only 26% of Americans want ALL of the Bush tax cuts extended and yet the Democrats are going to cave? Incredible:

    http://tpmdc.talkingpointsmemo.com/2010/12/poll-only-26-percent-want-all-bush-tax-cuts-extended.php?ref=fpa

    • December 3, 2010 7:07 pm

      I hadn’t heard about the 26% number. I’m a bit of a political junkie and often watch Washington Journal in the morning before work. A few days ago when they asked people to call in about the deficit commission, republicans, democrats, and independents all called in and were furious. Their basic message was that the commission wants to fix the country’s problems on the back of poor and middle class Americans, they have suffered enough, and they are fed up with the preference shown to corporations and the very wealthy. – Usually the content of the GOP callers is very different from the Dem callers. But not this time. People are disgusted.

  4. PYW permalink
    December 3, 2010 6:08 pm

    A lot of excellent posts here. Whatever decision Hillary makes is fine with me. Her concept of public service includes more than public office.

    Also, Obama’s behavior about the tax cuts infuriates me, too. Those stupid tax cuts are one of the reasons we’re in this huge fiscal hole to begin with. And I agree that he desperately needs new advisers, and the fact he hasn’t even thought about changing his inner circle is very troubling.

    • PCFS permalink
      December 4, 2010 10:45 am

      PYW, Well said. I agree. She will be bigger then life as she continues her journey in in public service. Hopefully with CGI. I pray one day that she is awarded the Noble Peace prize.

  5. pondskipper permalink
    December 3, 2010 7:37 pm

    I don’t know enough about what the White House is doing/ might be doing/ is rumoured to be doing to comment on that part of this thread. Journalists love to pretend they are knowledgable and have inside information to pump up their own importance and bloggers do the same (not a swipe at you stacy, I always find your postings thoughful, informative and ego-free) so that a lot of sound and fury gets whipped up over something that eventually doesn’t happen. Don’t know I’ll have to wait and see.

    If I’m being optimistic I can hope that Hillary is just saying to the Democrats ‘ Hey use me or lose me’ . I believe her when she says she won’t run for President again so the obvious way to use the most respected female politician in the US is to put her on the ticket as VP, which I would love.

    If I’m being pessimistic I can think that she has been so hacked off by the stupid and selfish behaviour of the politicians around her that she has decided that she can accomplish more as a private individual than as a part of the Washington tribe.

    And if I’m feeling really suicidal I can see a time when Hillary has left the stage and only Sarah Palin remains. And then I really despair!

Leave a Reply

