Skip to content

February 16th 2011 Appointments: SOS Hillary Rodham Clinton

February 16, 2011

SECRETARY OF STATE HILLARY RODHAM CLINTON

9:45 a.m. Secretary Clinton meets with Lithuanian Foreign Minister and Chairman of the OSCE Audronius Azubalis, at the Department of State.

10:00 a.m. Secretary Clinton delivers remarks to the first ever Strategic Dialogue with Civil Society, at the Department of State.

Watch live on http://www.state.gov.

12:00 p.m. Secretary Clinton holds a bilateral meeting with Macedonian Prime Minister Nikola Gruevski, at the Department of State.

1:45 p.m. Secretary Clinton meets with President Obama, at the White House.

4:30 p.m. Secretary Clinton attends a meeting at the White House.

6:45 p.m. Secretary Clinton hosts a reception in honor of new members of the House of Representatives and their spouses, at the Department of State.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Thain permalink
    February 16, 2011 11:30 am

    I give her tons of credit. I don’t know how anyone can give a major speech every single day. She’s a very good public speaker too.

    I’ll admit there was a time I believed grudgingly that Obama was a good public speaker (during the primaries) but when I listen to him now I get the same feeling I get when I am being lectured to by my profs. He shows very little emotion and he sucks with a teleprompter. So I really don’t think he’s a good public speaker except in a more informal rally type environment- then he seems more impassioned. It’s a problem because he’s not a good messenger for his policies and the GOP are chewing the dems up and spitting them out.

    • Carolyn-Rodham permalink
      February 16, 2011 11:50 am

      I totally agree. Plus, he reaaaallllly sucks at press conferences, where he can come across as childing and arrogant (“You guys expect immediate results, right? Isn’t that right? these things are supposed to happen yesterday” — he’s addressing reporters here).

    • February 16, 2011 12:19 pm

      I agree, as well. I actually never understood his appeal as a speaker. To me, any politician’s speech (really, any person’s speech) is only impressive to the extent it’s backed up by action. Just never saw any action in the IL State House or the US Senate to back up the rhetoric…

Leave a Reply

