Skip to content

Next Up for SOS Hillary Clinton…Greenland

May 7, 2011

Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton will travel to Nuuk, Greenland May 11-12 with Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar to participate in the Seventh Ministerial Meeting of the Arctic Council.

The Arctic Council is composed of the eight Arctic states, with involvement of Arctic indigenous groups, and is the pre-eminent intergovernmental forum for cooperation in the Arctic. At this meeting, Secretary Clinton will sign an Arctic Search and Rescue Agreement, the first binding international agreement among the eight Arctic States and an important step in saving lives in the region.

I’m so jealous. I’ve always wanted to go to Greenland. I hear it’s beautiful. Here are some photos of Greenland:

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Thain permalink
    May 8, 2011 12:21 pm

    Greenland? I wonder how much that trip costs? I mean, I know she has to travel and do things face to face, but Greenland? How ’bout Antarctica?

    ps. Stacy, I’m with you, it looks very beautiful. Very remote.

    • Carolyn-Rodham permalink
      May 8, 2011 3:29 pm

      Don’t we have an air base there, designed to defend us from potential attacks from North Korea and/or Iran? And isn’t Greenland an oil-rich land? I doubt she’s just sight-seeing.

      • Thain permalink
        May 8, 2011 3:33 pm

        Don’t get so defensive, I’m just saying. Sheesh.

        We have airbases everywhere, so what?

        Christ, is there some sort of rule here that you can never criticize anything the State Dept. does? I didn’t fucking say she was sight seeing, did I carolyn?

        How exactly is Iran going to attack us? do they have missiles that can reach us? No, they don’t.

        • PCFS permalink
          May 8, 2011 4:22 pm

          Thain, No need to be using offensive words. Not here, not on Stacy blog.

        • Carolyn-Rodham permalink
          May 8, 2011 5:29 pm

          Whoa, whoa, whoa!

          I don’t know what tone you read into my post, Thain, but it was supposed to be sort of a humorous, tongue-in-cheek comment about the nefarious, self-serving intentions behind US foreign policy!

          I’ll resist the opportunity to make an interpretation about internalized hostile maternal introjects…;)

  2. Carolyn-Rodham permalink
    May 8, 2011 3:32 pm

    And Happy Mother’s Day to all, whether your charges are two- or four-legged!

  3. Thain permalink
    May 8, 2011 3:42 pm

    Ok, I take it all back- I really think it’s wonderful secretary clinton is going to Greenland and I can’t wait to see the photos. I also look forward to her discussions on the Arctic.

    There, is that better? Am I back in the club?

    I seem to remember Obots refusing to allow even one single criticism of Obama or any of his people and we Hillary supporters would called them out on it. Perhaps we shouldn’t emulate them but rather engage in independent thought once in a while, hmmmm?

    • May 8, 2011 3:54 pm

      Now Thain- you know you can say whatever you want on this blog, including criticism of the State Dept.

      Lets be honest, govt officials, including members of Congress, take a lot of trips that maybe aren’t necessary. I’m not saying this trip to Greenland isn’t necessary, but as SOS it’s probably important to show up and do some of these things face to face instead of say, via video feed.

      If I were going to make an issue of govt travel, I think I’d start with congressional “fact finding” missions, many of which are a joke.

  4. Nunu permalink
    May 10, 2011 12:50 pm

    As citizen of Nuuk (capital of Greenland) I’m looking forward to this meeting and honestly hope the small countries don’t get pulled over the table as happened in the past.
    By the way, Thule lost the military strategic advantage of location long time ago and oil, well, they still search for commercially interesting volumes. But thinning ice coverage will open new shipping routes and that makes discussion of oil spill task forces and tactics to deal with those damages very important.
    It’s nice to see that the US reserves time to participate with a high ranking officer like SOS.

    Greetings from Greenland

  5. January 25, 2013 8:22 pm

    Your not the only one that always wanted to go to Greenland.

Leave a Reply

