Skip to content

An Email From Mohamed

May 19, 2011

I just received this brief email from a man through my “contact me” page who identified himself only as “Mohamed” and I am posting it here because I think it’s important. For the record, I did write him back to ensure that he realized this was not the official site of the Secretary of State, but rather a personal blog.

Remember, while those of us who live in the U.S. and the West debate the merits (or not) of Obama’s speech, perhaps we should stop and consider how actual people in the streets of the West Bank, Jedda and Manama feel about the speech.

The email:

I hope Obama team is able to read Arab tweets specially Bahraini after the speech today to realize to what extent we have lost confidence in him and in America.

I hope so too.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Seamus permalink
    May 19, 2011 5:30 pm

    Stacey- Thanks for posting this. It’s important to remember that this isn’t just some academic or policy exercise for many people- their lives literally hang in the balance.

    Also thank you for all your coverage of this issue today- as always it is thought-provoking and thorough- this is why I enjoy this blog. I also appreciate anyone who is willing to speak up for an unpopular group when very few others will. There is nothing courageous about always sticking up for the most powerful members of society and the imbalance of power between the Israelis and Palestinians makes those of us who are NOT Americans wonder why the U.S. throws so much of its considerable weight behind the party that already holds all the cards- Israel.

    Also thanks to Mohamed for the email.

  2. rachel permalink
    May 19, 2011 6:31 pm

    Thanks for posting the email, I would like to know what they want us to do. What is their solution? This is not beign sarcastic at all either. I just want to know what they think will satisfy all parties and how the United States can bring that about.

    • May 19, 2011 7:20 pm

      I don’t know. Maybe they want Obama to condemn Bahrain with the same sense of urgency he used with Syria, Iran etc? Maybe they want to hear the world’s superpower applaud them for risking their lives to go out in the streets and demand their freedom, despite the fact that it’s the home of the Fifth Fleet? Maybe they want us to use the leverage we have as an ally of Bahrain to put real pressure on the royal dictatorship there?

      But I don’t know, I can’t speak for them. I’m just guessing.

  3. Carolyn-Rodham permalink
    May 20, 2011 12:20 am

    I’m for moving the Fifth Fleet to Qatar or Kuwait (Iran would love that!) – – they’re making some attempt at democracy, aren’t they? Compromising our democratic values (and the basic rights of the Bahraini people) to this extent is too high a price to pay for a safe harbor.

Leave a Reply

