Skip to content

UPDATE: Secretary of State Hillary Clinton & Dr. Henry Kissinger on the ‘Charlie Rose Show’ Tonight

April 20, 2011

Check your local listings for when the show will be broadcast. They are filming it today (see her daily schedule below). The Charlie Rose website is here.

On April 20th, Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton and former Secretary of State Dr. Henry A. Kissinger will participate in the first of a series called “Conversations on Diplomacy, Moderated by Charlie Rose.”

The Conversation will enable the Secretaries to discuss the issues of the day and reflect on their experiences as America’s top diplomat. Emmy award-winning journalist Charlie Rose is the host of “Charlie Rose,” the nightly PBS program that engages the world’s best thinkers, writers, politicians, business leaders, scientists and other newsmakers. “Charlie Rose” also airs on Bloomberg TV globally.

The event and the ensuing series of conversations is part of the 50th Anniversary Patrons of Diplomacy Initiative for the Diplomatic Reception Rooms at the Department of State.

For fifty years, the art of diplomacy has thrived in the State Department’s Diplomatic Reception Rooms against a stunning backdrop of American art and architecture from the time of our country’s founding and its formative years. The historic suite of forty-two rooms contains a museum-caliber collection of American fine and decorative art, including 5,000 objects from the period of 1750-1825. In these rooms, the United States has signed treaties and conducted summit negotiations, hosted peace talks and facilitated trade agreements.

The Patrons of Diplomacy Initiative will ensure that the Rooms and collection continue to provide an extraordinary backdrop for American diplomacy.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. HillaryFan permalink
    April 20, 2011 12:37 pm

    Thanks for the updated info.!

    Charlie Rose is a good interviewer. I don’t know if I’ll be able to watch it tonight but hopefully the video will be available.

  2. CJS permalink
    April 21, 2011 3:42 am

    I watched and enjoyed the above program very much. But – you wait – all the negative – anti-everything people will soon be online with their endless list of criticisms. I won’t take the time to debate with anyone about their opinion. I just want to say that I thought this program was enjoyable and informative. And because it was the first in a series, I am looking forward to see the rest of the programs. cjs

    • April 21, 2011 5:41 am

      I didn’t see the whole thing but what I saw was good.

      I don’t think I’d describe people as “anti-everything” just because they may disagree with things. Foreign policy is controversial and people have strong opinions-I don’t think there is anything wrong with that.

    • Seamus permalink
      April 21, 2011 7:59 am

      Hey mate, relax. The important part of your comment seems to be this:

      I won’t take the time to debate with anyone about their opinion.

      Yeah why debate anyone’s opinion about foreign policy on a blog dealing with foreign policy.

      If you hadn’t noticed all viewpoints are welcome. Some folks don’t seem to jive with that though – they just want everyone to be wearing pom poms and chearleading whatever is said while demanding Stacey scrub comments that aren’t deemed 100% loyal to HRC. We had a name for that among Obama supporters- OBOTS. It wasn’t pretty when they did it either.

  3. Thain permalink
    April 21, 2011 8:25 am

    I watched most of it. I thought it was good. Hopefully it puts to rest the notion that Secretary Clinton isn’t a major SOS like Kissinger or Baker which is the favorite rallying cry of people like Ben Smith, Leslie Gelb and others stuck in the White Male 1970’s.

  4. HillaryFan permalink
    April 21, 2011 10:40 am

    For the record I enjoy this site because of its focus on everything Hillary is doing and also the in-depth coverage of foreign policy because I’ll be honest- I’ve never really been that interested in foreign policy. I was always more interested in domestic politics but since Hillary became SOS and since reading this site multiple times a day I feel like I know a lot more. I also like the fact that Stacy lets people talk about whatever they want to talk about- if I’m not interested in a certain topic or if I disagree I can just move along to something else or join in the discussion. I love Hillary but I don’t agree with every single thing this administration does and I don’t think it’s disloyal to say so.

  5. CJS permalink
    April 22, 2011 4:17 am

    Me again! I do agree with all of you that everyone is entitled to their opinion. I certainly find no fault whenever a person says that they disagree with a politician or someone elses politics or that they would do something differently. The following remarks (and this is a mild one) are what I get tired of reading.

    “Charlie Rose once again proves his position as America’s foremost sycophant. His show features a constant parade of rogues from Wall Street and DC. I can’t watch his show without puking! Hillary Clinton and Henry Kissinger together? What are they going to discuss? How to avoid prosecution for their war crimes? Henry Kissinger is a certified national disgrace. . . .”

    I don’t think the above remarks are constructive – and they are certainly aren’t someone’s thoughts about foreign policy. There is nothing there to debate — except perhaps an attitude.

    I’m not a “pom pom cheerleader.” There are a lot of things that different politicians do and have done that I don’t agree with. And – on the other hand – I also don’t envy a lot of politicians their thankless jobs. We’re going through a tough time right now (some people a lot more than others) and a lot of criticism is to be expected. After all – most of what has happened to our economy shouldn’t have happened. What should we call it — “pilot error?” People need to be blamed – and changes and corrections need to be made.

    Back to the program – I did enjoy the program and look forward to the rest of the series. CJS

    Anyway –

    • April 22, 2011 7:51 am

      CJS- you quoted some comments like the one below but who said them or where? You quoted:

      “Charlie Rose once again proves his position as America’s foremost sycophant. His show features a constant parade of rogues from Wall Street and DC. I can’t watch his show without puking! Hillary Clinton and Henry Kissinger together? What are they going to discuss? How to avoid prosecution for their war crimes? Henry Kissinger is a certified national disgrace. . . .”

      Was it someone commenting on this website b/c if so I missed it? Or are they comments from other sites? And I agree it’s not constructive.

      I think what people were assuming you meant in your original comment was that people were being too negative here when they disagreed with certain policies. Obviously, we have no control over what people say on other sites and yes, there are a ton of people with Clinton Derangement Syndrome who will have a negative, knee-jerk response to anything Hillary does or says but it’s usually pretty obvious who those people are and they usually aren’t interested in debate.

      • Tovah permalink
        April 22, 2011 11:15 am

        I don’t think anyone said that here! I think that comment is from somewhere else.

      • CJS permalink
        April 26, 2011 2:50 pm

        My quote – came from another article followed by comments – similiar to this one. It was from a person with “initials” – simply someone’s opinion – not anyone that could be recognized. (No more than when I sign what I say “CJS.”) I wasn’t quoting anyone to point out what they said – I was just trying to display an attitude. And – these sorts of remarks certainly aren’t only about politics or political figures. I could probably find remarks such as this following an article about the Doo Doo bird (sp!).

        We sure can disagree and can say why we disagree (in fact – we should) – these statements could, in fact, be very thoughtful and insightful – not offensive or just another person screaming at the world.

        Have fun guys – keep commenting. CJS

Leave a comment