Skip to content

Secretary of State Hillary Clinton in Abu Dhabi: Video Remarks on Libya

June 9, 2011

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Secretary of State Hillary Clinton in Abu Dhabi…, posted with vodpod

Photos:

Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton gestures during a news conference at the Emirates Palace Hotel in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, Thursday, June 9, 2011, following the Third Contact Group Meeting on Libya. (AP Photo/Susan Walsh, Pool)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Pilgrim permalink
    June 9, 2011 5:24 pm

    Is it true she’s gonna take job as head of World Bank?

  2. Carolyn-Rodham permalink
    June 10, 2011 2:14 am

    Any thoughts about the rumor that Hillary wants to head up the World Bank when current President’s term expires next year? Took me by surprise but it makes sense as I thought about it — she’d be in a position to channel billions into development for poor countries around the world. She’d also be the first woman President of the organization, another “first woman” on her resume.

    But the news depressed the hell out of me for two reasons. If the rumor is true that she wants the job, I’d say the chances of her running for POTUS in 2016 are then nil. I know, she’s stated repeatedly she doesn’t intend to run for POTUS, but I was hoping against hope…The other depressing aspect of this is that word is John Kerry would replace her. Ug.

    Plus my Yanks just got swept at home by the friggin’ Red Sox. Again.

    • June 10, 2011 8:46 am

      Well, I guess the State Dept. and Clinton’s spokesperson, Philippe Reines, is denying she has any interest in the job, but even if she does, I guess they have to deny it since she still has this job.

      I think anything she does she’ll be very good at and she’ll bring attention to important, under-reported issues (like poverty, development, women’s rights etc.) but I really wish Biden would step down and I wish she’d be on the 2012 ticket as a set up for 2016. But if she doesn’t want to do that, I totally understand.

      I don’t know a huge amount about the World Bank. I was kind of surprised when I heard about it. I guess I sort of assumed if she didn’t run for office she’d do some sort of philanthropic work. But she is in a great position to do anything she wants.

  3. January 14, 2013 11:21 am

    She would do a great job in any job she takes on because she is awesome.

Leave a comment