Skip to content

Video Flashback: SOS Hillary Rodham Clinton Honored by the American Ireland Fund

November 28, 2010

This is for Seamus in the comments who wanted a video of Secretary Clinton discussing Ireland. I couldn’t find the interview he was referring to but hopefully this will be just as good. I am glad to have found this because I don’t remember seeing this. Or maybe I did see it and my memory is shot.

I think looking at the situation with Northern Ireland is instructive given what they overcame during their own contentious peace process. I can’t help but think that the Northern Ireland peace process isn’t far from Secretary Clinton’s mind as she navigates through the waters of the Israeli-Palestinian peace process. The two situations obviously aren’t exactly similar, but there were some of the same political barriers in that situation, not to mention a long contentious history filled with violence, partition and terrorism. And of course Senator George Mitchell was made Special Envoy to the Middle East in part because of the role he played in bringing about peace with the Good Friday Agreement. Even despite the agreement, the situation has been tenuous with setbacks, intermittent violence and gains over the last decade. Despite this, however, it shows that peace is possible.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Seamus permalink
    November 28, 2010 1:01 pm

    THANK YOU Stacy! I had not seen this. She’s rockin’ out in the blue gown!

    You’re ‘da best Stacy

  2. November 28, 2010 2:39 pm

    Your posts, Stacy, over the holiday weekend have been superb, as always. I think that peace is always possible. But what I don’t see in the Middle East is a true commitment from both sides. Both sides have to view peace and the compromises required to achieve peace as essential to their own future. I have no idea what the average Israeli thinks, but I don’t believe that those in power in Israel or in AIPAC yet see the compromises or even a policy of peace (as opposed to perpetual war) as essential.

    I heard the other day on CSPAN that Tony Blair had released a large number of prisoners (including people who had been convicted of murders) as a compromise for peace in Northern Ireland. That is the kind of courage that we just don’t see often. And I’m not a fan of Blair’s. But I think he certainly did some things right.

Leave a Reply

